The hundredth post

This is the hundredth post I’ve made on Paper Knife since I restarted my blog, some sixteen months ago. I haven’t posted as regularly as I would have liked during that time, but I have at least settled on an approach to writing which satisfies me: writing about what I like, when I feel like it, or as often as I can manage. Paper Knife is not the biggest or glitziest blog in the world and it doesn’t have the biggest online following but it’s mine and I’m happy with it. I’m also very grateful to all the people who stop by to read, who link to my posts elsewhere and generally provide support.

While I am celebrating this small but significant personal blogging milestone, how about a few statistics? My most popular post, in terms of page views, is ironically a non-genre post, about Edmund de Waal’s The Hare With Amber Eyes (and not even a post I think particularly well of, but there you go). It is followed, though not especially closely, by a piece I wrote about John Mullan and the genre wars, Twelve of the Best, before I decided I wasn’t going to participate in the genre wars any more, because they were meaningless. In third place is the first proper post I made on Paper Knife v.2, Quis Est Iste Qui Venit, about M.R. James, ‘Oh Whistle and I’ll Come To You, My Lad’, and the tv adaptation that wasn’t, of Christmas 2010. Fourth place goes to a piece I wrote very recently about Kipling’s Kim and Hari Kunzru’s The Impressionist, which Hari Kunzru himself came across and liked enough that he tweeted its URL to his Twitter followers.

In the near future, I shall be continuing to blog my way through Ann and Jeff VanderMeer’s The Weird – I’ve taken a breather to stop myself becoming dangerously repetitive in what I am saying about the stories, and also to write about a few other things that are on my mind. Other than that, I currently have no great plans for future blogging, just more of whatever happens to catch my fancy. Oh, and I do promise to put in some work on my bibliography this year.

To finish off, and because I don’t want this post just to be all about me, a few promotional items.

I want to draw your attention to Ian Sales’ SF Mistressworks Project, which is ongoing: read all about it here.

Although Ian didn’t win the BSFA Non-fiction Award, his brilliant work has prompted the emergence of a couple of sister projects.

First is the Fantasy MistressworksProject, which will be overseen by Amanda Rutter, and covers similar ground to Ian’s work but for fantasy. I’ll be very intrigued to see how this develops. I’m looking forward to the opportunity to reassess my thoughts on a lot of modern fantasy.

Second is Michaela Staton’s Daughters of Prometheus, intended to take Ian’s work into the twenty-first century.

So this year I really shall have to go through my back catalogue of reviews to see what I can pass on to these various projects. I encourage you to contribute as well.

In the meantime I am now debating whether to mark my 500th post on Paper Knife, or just wait until the 1000th.

