On the first day of Christmas …

On the first day of Christmas …No, I’m not actually sitting at my computer on Christmas Day; I am downstairs, reading. I’ve no idea what I’m reading as I don’t yet know what books I’ve been given for Christmas. But yes, I’m pretty sure I’ll be given books, and you’ll probably hear about them in due course.

However, because I’m old-fashioned, I like the idea of twelve blog posts for the Twelve Days of Christmas, so I’ve scheduled a few posts for while I’m mostly away from my desk.

Today’s post consists of links to things I’ve found interesting lately, some of which may suit the festive season.

Writ Small – Naomi Stead (architecture and children’s literature) “Houses in fairy tales are never just houses; they always contain secrets and dreams.” Three imaginings of the architecture of fairy stories

Fairy Tale Architecture: Snowflake
>Fairy Tale Architecture: The Little Match Girl
Fairy Tale Architecture: Monkey King

And a fairy-tale landscape of a different sort. A remnant of primeval forest, Białowieża Forest, on the borders of Poland and Belarus, complete with European bison (or wisent, which is your word for today).

I used to be one of those people who read Susan Cooper’s The Dark Is Rising every Christmas. The habit lapsed after a while but when I tried to revive it a couple of years ago, I found I could no longer find the same pleasure in the story. I had finally moved on to other things. However, Cooper is still an interesting writer and Susan Cooper: A Life In Writing is worth reading.

The Dark is Rising is notable for snow, lots of it. As I write this, the aprés-apocalypse seems to consist of rain, lots and lots of rain, and flooding. To redress the balance, snow drawings (via P.D. Smith, whose latest book, City,is brilliant).

Yule type and Edward Bawden’s Christmas catalogues for Fortnum and Mason.

And that’s probably enough Crimble goodness for one day.

One thought on “On the first day of Christmas …

  1. Irina

    Same here with The Dark Is Rising, though "moved on to other things" seems a bit harsh. Perhaps I've just read too much discussion and deconstruction of it, so I finally see the inherent nastiness of the Light that I've always been able to gloss over (heck, it's the Light, how can it be unpleasant?) Some Cooper fanfic actually does a better job because it has the right atmosphere but avoids the inevitability, the predestination, and gives scope to the people.It's disconcerting not to have a designated Christmas book, though; I'm making do with Dorothy Sayers for Englishness.(Oh, and thank you for the HTML parser, saved me from having half of my reply in italics)

Comments are closed.