More Things I Read on the Internet – 11/2/2014

Because yesterday’s link post got a bit out of hand, I saved some for today.

APB

Anna Kavan Symposium, London, September 11th, 2014. Details here.

Current Research in Speculative Fiction has put out a Call for Papers for its fourth conference, to held in Liverpool, June 20th, 2014

In My Other Life

I like it when my areas of interest intersect. Here, and here, Ernesto Hogan talks about Joaquin Murrieta, the inspiration for Zorro, and a person of interest to me because the first known novel by a Native American is The Life and Adventures of Joaquin Murrieta, by Yellow Bird, also known as John Rollin Ridge.

Some of you will also know that I rate Herman Melville’s Moby-Dick very highly. Indeed, I have voluntarily read it several times. Via Strange Maps, here is a map of the voyage of the Pequod.

Urban Studies

Ten Failed Utopian Cities

Stained Glass Greenhouse

In Translation

Translation at the Jaipur Literature Festival

Creepy Gothic Ruins

So, it turns out that Ann Radcliffe may (or may not) have written her mother-in-law into her fiction.

And a bonus piece extolling the virtues of Gustav Meyrink’s The Golem

Clips and Stills

Fascinating article on the film of Peter Beagle’s The Last Unicorn. Which I have seen but found a little too sweet for my taste. I vastly prefer the book.

Jessie Tarbox, photographer of New York in the early twentieth century.

Last Thoughts

A Pencil That Lets You Use It Until The End of Its Lead, leaving you with a stub of wood that you can do nothing with.

Another gem from Is Monsterful, and this … I have no idea. Just follow the whole thing.

A Life-Preserving Coffin in Doubtful Cases of Death

