Strange Horizons 2015 Fund Drive – making the world a better place to read

The 2015 Fund Drive ends in 5 days, 14 hours, 58 minutes, and 47 seconds.

I should declare an interest in this. I work for Strange Horizons as Senior Reviews Editor. I’m very proud to be part of a great team of editors, copy editors, proofreaders and web people, putting this magazine together and sending it into the world every week.

None of us gets paid for this. We are volunteers, working in our free time to bring you stories, poems, articles and reviews.

The 2015 Fund Drive ends in 5 days, 14 hours, 56 minutes, and 12 seconds.

So where does the money raised by this fund drive actually go?

Some of it goes towards keeping a website online, and the other attendant expenses of running a magazine. Most of it goes towards paying our contributors – our authors, poets and artists.

Let me say that again. We pay our contributors.

The 2015 Fund Drive ends in 5 days, 14 hours, 52 minutes, and 56 seconds.

We pay for great articles, artwork and stories, poems and reviews.

And unsurprisingly we get great articles, artwork and stories, poems and reviews.

I may be biased about the reviews (we have fabulous, insightful reviewers) but I’m a little less subjective about the articles and stories and poems. They’re wonderful. Trust me.

The 2015 Fund Drive ends in 5 days, 14 hours, 49 minutes, and 59 seconds.

More seriously, ever since I first discovered it online, Strange Horizons has been the place I turned for something new, different, original. Some of my favourite stories have been published by Strange Horizons, and some of my favourite articles and reviews, too. And thanks to Strange Horizons, I’m starting to develop a better appreciation of science-fictional poetry.

A lot of people I respect and admire are associated with the magazine. It still gives me a buzz to realise I’m now actually part of this amazing thing as well.

The 2015 Fund Drive ends in 5 days, 14 hours, 46 minutes, and 45 seconds.

But we can’t do it without your help. Strange Horizons is reliant on your donations, which is why we have an annual fund drive. It’s your money that keeps us going.

It doesn’t have to be much – every dollar helps ensure that we keep going for another year.

You can make a one-off donation for the year or, new this time, you can spread your contribution over the year by signing up for the Strange Horizons Patreon (which is what I’ve done) and get regular Strange Horizons ebooks, and also admire Niall Harrison’s fund-raising graphs.

All those donating are entered into our prize draw – there are some great prizes, and I’m really envious of those of you who are eligible.

The 2015 Fund Drive ends in 5 days, 14 hours, 42 minutes, and 40 seconds.

To donate, go to the Strange Horizons fund-raising page which explains all the options for giving.

The 2015 Fund Drive ends in 5 days, 14 hours, 37 minutes, and 30 seconds.

Reaching the next fund-drive target will unlock a brand new Kelly Link story. Help us get there. Be part of the wonderful thing that is Strange Horizons.

The 2015 Fund Drive ends in 5 days, 14 hours, 36 minutes, and 9 seconds.

 

